FRESNO, Calif. (KFSN) -- In California, anyone wanting to purchase a gun has to wait at least 10 days before a firearm can be released to them.
Federal law does not require a waiting period. It states a customer can purchase a firearm as soon as he or she passes a background check, which can be done in minutes.
When it comes to purchasing limits in the Golden State a person cannot purchase more than one handgun within 30 days but there is no limit on the number of shotguns or rifles. Federal law has no limit for any firearm.
The big question for some is 'who can own a firearm in California?
-If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you cannot
-If you are addicted to narcotics or have mental conditions
The government's list for this is even longer. It bans anyone convicted of a crime that requires prison time exceeding one year or anyone who forfeits their American citizenship.
When it comes to large capacity magazines. No one in California can buy ammunition magazines that can hold more than 10 rounds.
The federal government has no ban on that, which means someone could purchase an ammunition magazine with 100 rounds in it.
Action News spoke with Jake Belemijan at the Firing Line in Clovis about the recent mass shooting in Florida.
He says it is heartbreaking but does not think guns are the problem. He believes it is certain people.
"A gun is just a tool if you take away the guns they will use knives or bombs or cars or airplanes or gasoline. I mean pick your poison. Taking away guns is not going to stop this from happening," said Belemijan.
Senator Diane Feinstein says not enough has been done since the assault weapons ban she authored in 1994 and she says the time for new laws is now.
"The point is let's try to do those things that can keep these powerful weapons out of the hands of people who should not have them at this young man is a classic case," said Feinstein.
More TOP STORIES News