FRESNO, Calif. (KFSN) -- California lawmakers have approved legislation which would make California the first state to require farmworkers receive extra pay after eight hours of work.
The assembly bill is now headed to the governor. California employers are already required to pay time-and-a half to farm workers after 10 hours in a workday or 60 hours in a week. That's longer than the overtime pay for other workers who receive it after eight hours in a day or 40 hours a week.
Hundreds of farm workers gave up a day's pay to return to the state capitol and witness the vote.
"Right now under current law we're telling our farm workers you are different than other workers," assembly member Rob Bonita said. "You are less than other workers."
Once the bill is delivered to the governor's desk, he has the opportunity to either sign it into law or veto it.
California lawmakers approve overtime law for farmworkers
More TOP STORIES News