Alabama RB Derrick Henry wins Maxwell Award, Doak Walker Award

ESPN logo
Friday, December 11, 2015

Alabamarunning back Derrick Henry was the big winner at The Home Depot 25th Anniversary College Football Awards on Thursday night, winning the Maxwell Award and the Doak Walker Award.

Henry bested Stanfordrunning back Christian McCaffrey and ClemsonquarterbackDeshaun Watsonto win the Maxwell Award, which is given to college football's player of the year. The same trio are the finalists for this year's Heisman Trophy, which will be announcedSaturday at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Henry became the first running back to win the Maxwell Award since 2002. His 1,986 yards brokeHerschel Walker's SEC mark for the most rushing yards in a season.

Henry also made sure McCaffrey went home empty-handed Thursday, winning the Doak Walker Award, which is given to the country's top running back. LSU'sLeonard Fournette, who is taking a perceived Heisman snub in stride, was the third finalist for the award.

Henry joined Trent Richardson, who won in 2011, as the only Alabama players to win the Doak Walker Award. Some other recent winners include Darren McFadden, Montee Ball and 2014 winner Melvin Gordon.

"This list is legendary," Henry said. "I'm just thankful to be a part of it."

Also Thursday, Henry was chosen as the Walter Camp National Player of the Year.

Watson, the quarterback for top-ranked Clemson, took home the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's best quarterback. Watson won over TCU'sTrevone Boykin and Oklahoma'sBaker Mayfield.

Clemson picked up a second award when Dabo Swinney won The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award after guiding the No. 1 Tigers to a 13-0 season.

Swinney said Watson, only a sophomore, was a "very deserving" Davey O'Brien winner.

"I think they got it right," Swinney said. "He's special in every regard. ... He's more than just a great football player. He's a great young man. This is just the beginning for him. An incredibly bright future. I'm glad we've got him back for at least another year."

Alabama led Football Bowl Subdivision schools in nominations with three players up for four awards, but only Henry brought home hardware for the Tide.

Henry is considered the Heisman favorite. Mark Ingram of Alabama in 2009 was the last running back -- and only Crimson Tide player -- to win the Heisman.

Henry said his focus is on helping Alabama win the national championship. A spot in the national championship game will be on the line when Alabama plays Michigan State in the Cotton Bowl on Dec. 31.

Alabama lost to Ohio State in last year's playoff semifinal in the Sugar Bowl.

"That taste from last year is still in my mouth," Henry said. "That one really bothered us."

Here are some of the major award winners:

Information from The Associated Press was included in this report.

Related Video