Twenty states say they will not accept Syrian refugees

There's now a major backlash against Syrian refugees after it was discovered that one of the terror suspects in the Paris attacks posed as a refugee to get into Europe.

More than 20 US governors are now threatening to block efforts to allow Syrian refugees into their states.

In September, the Obama administration announced 10,000 Syrians will be allowed entry next year. Monday, Texas Governor Greg Abbott sent a letter to President Obama saying the state of Texas will not accept any of them.

The governors of 20 other states have issued similar statements. Monday Governor Jerry Brown said California will not be one of those states but stressed the need for careful screening.

It is not clear, what governors could actually do to stop refugees. There are no lawful means that permit a state government to dictate immigration policy to the President.
Copyright © 2020 KFSN-TV. All Rights Reserved.